Lost links & Re-ups

On any post, if the link is no longer good, leave a comment if you want the music re-uploaded. As long as I still have the file, or the record, cd, or cassette to re-rip, I will gladly accommodate in a timely manner all such requests.

Slinging tuneage like some fried or otherwise soused short-order cook

03 September 2009

My Government is My Soul

This post was re-uploaded 11/04/2017.

When I was posting up the cassette-only release The Last Supper, I was re-listening to it & was reminded that Bourbonese Qualk is an extremely excellent band that I haven't revisited nearly enough as of late. I am remedying that situation now, by listening to all of their material that I have.

After Julian Gilbert & Steven Tanza left the group (to pursue writing & form the band The State, respectively), Simon Crab, original founding member & musical mastermind of Bo-Qu reformed the group with Miles Miles (guitar & other instruments) & Owen 'If' Rossiter (drums). The re-formed Bourbonese Qualk trio spent the next 3 years (1987-90) in a recording silence constantly touring Europe. Out of these years came the highly acclaimed LP My Government is My Soul released in 1990 on their own New International label. My Government Is My Soul is a more polished live-sounding album which occasionally hints at a rockier, slightly more commercial-edged sound than their earlier releases. It's a collection of hauntingly quiet passages, broken by unusually emotive angst, filled with sequenced bass rhythms, endless percussion & wonderfully noise-ridden synthesized voice.

You can read about the early years of Bourbonese Qualk & the infamous Ambulance Station over at Simon Crab's great site, The Stalker. You can also download the entire Bo-Qu back catalogue at their Archives, which documents their work from the beginnings in 1980 until the end in 2002, when, following the untimely death of guitarist Miles Miles in October of that year, the remaining members decided to disband the group.

Bourbonese Qualk - My Government is My Soul,
New International Recordings/FünfUndVierzig 34, 1989.

Featured on this release: Simon Crab - voice & electronics; Miles Miles - guitar & saxophone; Owen If (Rossiter) - drums & percussion; & Kif Cole - live sound.

Side A:
Let It Go
Ton Ton Macoute
Know Your Enemy

Side B:
Keep Pushing
Forget The Past
The Last Thing We Have Is Choice



  1. cool blog!!! (I'm reuploading the Reagan Youth post, feel free to repost if you want... adding some early 80's demos... should be ready in bout 30 min...

  2. Nice blog...
    Bourbone Qualk one of the most important industrial group of the 80's...

  3. It was certainly interesting for me to read this post. Thank you for it. I like such topics and anything that is connected to them. I definitely want to read more on that blog soon.

  4. Pretty nice place you've got here. Thank you for it. I like such themes and everything that is connected to this matter. I would like to read a bit more soon.

  5. Hi !
    Great album ! Please visit my blog. I have decided to upload all the Bourbonese Qualk's discog ...

  6. could you please reupload it ? thanks !!

  7. to Anonymous,

    done. Also see my latest post for further info.

  8. Nathan
    Sorry to be a pain ...so I'll suck up to you by saying I reckon you are the JOHN PEEL [ late British DJ ] of bloggers :)
    Please please please re- up this if possible grovel grovel :)

    1. Give me a couple days & I'll have it re-upped.

  9. Thanks for the re- up Nathan hope 2018 is a good year for you , but I agree things don't look good , so we must worry for nothing , deal with thngs as they come and trust JESUS to deliver us for we may die , but HIS promise is that we will live again in HIS Kingdom which will be a darn sight better than the mess made by men :)